|
|
-
The Basics
In this first part, we look at the basic features of Scrivener that you will be using most of the time.
-
Going Further
Dip into the topics in this part when you are a little more at home in Scrivener.
-
Remember...
Remember that you don’t need to read anything in this section to start using Scrivener—”The Basics” will get you up and running with everything you need to know. Just dip into this section whenever you feel like learning something else that you can do in Scrivener.
-
Searching
Learn about the various ways of finding things in Scrivener.
-
Referring to More Documents
Open documents in more splits and in other windows.
-
Quick Reference Panels
As well as being able to split the editor to view more than one document, you can open documents in their own windows, allowing you to have as many documents in a project open on screen as you want. We call these windows “Quick Reference” panels, because you can use them to open, check and edit documents without affecting the main window.
Let’s start by opening this document in a Quick Reference panel so that we can keep it open while we open some others:
1. Click the “Quick Ref” icon in the ...
-
Copyholders
In “The Basics”, we saw that you can split Scrivener’s editor in two to view two documents alongside one another. However, each of the two editors also has a “Copyholder” associated with it.
A Copyholder is a secondary editor that can be displayed inside an editor so that you can refer to another document. It is not a full editor in itself, in that it cannot display the corkboard, outliner or scrivenings modes; it can only show the content of a single document.
With two editors open each showi...
-
Writing and Editing
Learn more about Scrivener’s writing tools.
-
Styles
Styles allow you to save and apply formatting to text. For example, you could create a “Block Quote” style with an indent and a smaller font than the rest of the text (Scrivener in fact provides a “Block Quote” style by default).
Scrivener remembers the style associated with a section of text. This way, if you change the formatting of a style, Scrivener can update all text that uses that style to use the new formatting.
Applying Styles
To apply a style, do one of the following:
• Select a st...
-
Page View
You can switch to page layout view to view your text on virtual pages in one of the following ways:
• Click on the “View” toolbar item and select “Page View”.
#
• Go to View > Text Editing > Page View in the main menu.
Note that the pages you see on screen may not match what you see when the text is compiled for print or export. The concept of pages is largely meaningless in Scrivener, because you work on the different parts of your manuscript in smaller pieces and can completely ...
-
Revision Mode
Revision mode allows you to use a different text colour while editing or revising your text, without having to change the colour again every time you click into a different part of a document.
• To enter revision mode, select one of the colours (“First Revision”, “Second Revision” and so on) from the Format > Revision Mode menu.
• You can set your preferred revision colours in the “Editing” dialog of the Options).
• In revision mode, no matter where you click in the text, when ...
-
Document Links
Document links work much like web hyperlinks, except that they link to other documents in the project.
To create a document link:
1. Select the text to which you wish to apply the text. For instance, try highlighting “document link” in the next sentence:
⁃ This is a document link.
⁃ (You don’t have to select text. If there is no selection, the title of the linked document will be inserted with the link applied to it.)
2. Either:
⁃ Go to Edit > Link to Document and...
-
Inline Notes
When covering “The Basics”, we saw how we could add comments and footnotes to text that are displayed in the inspector. Another way of adding footnotes and comments is to insert them inline. The text of inline annotations and footnotes appears right inside your text (as opposed to inspector comments and footnotes, the text of which is hidden away in the inspector).
Whether you use inspector or inline footnotes and comments is entirely up to you (you can even use a mixture of both).
Inline foot...
-
Setting Targets
You can set three types of word and character count targets in Scrivener:
1. Draft target: the total number of words, characters or pages you wish to write in your manuscript.
2. Session target: the number of words or characters you wish to write during the current writing session.
3. Document target: the number of words or characters you wish to write in a particular document.
Draft Target
Anything you type in documents inside the Draft folder counts towards the Draft target. T...
-
Scriptwriting Mode
Scriptwriting mode is available from Format > Scriptwriting > Script Mode (Ctrl+4).
When in script mode, the footer view will show information on the various available script elements.
• Select Format > Scriptwriting > Script Mode > Screenplay from the main menu now.
⁃ The word and character count will disappear and you will see a pop-up menu appear on the right of the footer view saying “General Text” (this just means that the currently selected text isn’t recognised as a part of ...
-
Typewriter Scrolling
By default, composition mode uses “typewriter scrolling”. With this enabled, newly-typed text will remain in the vertical centre of the screen so that you don’t have to crick your neck by looking down all the time.
Typewriter scrolling works like this:
• When you type text in a new document, when there is enough text so that the line you are typing on would be lower than the middle of the screen, it is automatically scrolled up to keep it centred.
• If you edit text elsewhere on the...
-
Organisation Tools
Using Collections, splitting and merging documents, and some more cool things you can do with the outliner and corkboard.
-
Collections
Collections provide a way of keeping different lists of binder documents around. There are two types of collection:
1. Arbitrary collections. You can add any documents you want to these and drag and drop to have them in any order.
⁃ Suppose you are reading through your manuscript and realise that a number of sections have problems in them that you are going to need to solve. You could create a collection called “Problems” and add any problematic documents to it. You could then open that col...
-
Using Bookmarks for Project Notes
In “The Basics”, we learned about how Bookmarks can be used to store references to other documents. In this section, we’ll learn how to use them in combination with Quick Reference Panels as a powerful way of managing project-wide notes.
Note: Be sure to read the section on Quick Reference Panels before reading this section!
First, we’re going to create a folder in the binder that we’ll use to store project notes:
1. In the binder, select the “Research” folder.
2. Click the “new fold...
-
Splitting and Merging Documents
Splitting Documents
Suppose you start out creating a single document for each chapter. Then, after your first draft, you realise that you want to break your chapters up into smaller sections, so that you can restructure more easily. No problem.
To split the text of a document into smaller pieces:
1. Click into the text at the point you wish to split it apart.
2. In the main menu, go to Documents > Split > at Selection. The document will be split in two at the cursor point.
Document...
-
Corkboard and Outliner Tricks
-
View Multiple Groups
You aren’t limited to displaying the contents of only one group in the corkboard or outliner—you can show the subdocuments of several groups by “stacking” them. This is really easy to do:
1. Split the editor horizontally or vertically.
2. Click into the other editor to give it the focus.
3. Select “The Basics” in the binder.
4. Switch to corkboard mode if necessary.
5. Hold down the Ctrl key and click on “Going Further” in the binder.
6...
-
Control the Other Editor
The outliner and corkboard are not only great organisational tools: they can also be used to navigate, just like the binder, using the “Selection Affects Other Editor” tool:
1. Split the editor if necessary.
2. In the other editor, load any folder and switch to either corkboard or outliner mode.
Note the button containing an arrow pointing out of a box in the footer bar:
#
That’s the “Selection Affects Other Editor” button. Click on it now. You will notice that it turns blue, to i...
-
Freeform Corkboard Mode
Scrivener’s corkboard is not like a real corkboard: on a real corkboard, you can pin cards anywhere; in Scrivener, the corkboard is a linear list of of a group’s subdocuments laid out in rows. However, there is a freeform mode, which allows you to place cards anywhere and experiment.
You switch between freeform and regular modes using the button on the right of the corkboard’s footer bar:
#
(You can also enter freeform mode by going to View > Corkboard Options > Freeform.)
Try this now:
...
-
Tracking Threads with Labels
In “The Basics”, we covered how coloured labels can be assigned to documents, and how they can be used for anything. There’s a cool way of viewing labels that we didn’t cover when looking at the basics, though: labels can be displayed in threads on the corkboard view. The easiest way to understand how this works is to see it in action:
1. Split the editor if necessary.
2. In the other editor, load the “Writing and Editing” folder under “Going Further”.
3. Switch to corkboard mode....
-
Getting Work In and Out
Import, export and sync.
-
Importing Files
Importing Files
To bring in writing and research from other apps:
1. In Scrivener’s binder, select the folder into which you wish to import the new files. Or, select the file under which you wish the files to be imported. (If you select a folder, the imported files will be placed inside it as the last items; if you select a file, imported files will be placed directly beneath it.)
2. Go to File > Import > Files… in the main menu.
3. In the file browser window that appears, select the files...
-
Exporting Files
There are three ways of getting work out in Scrivener:
1. Compile the Draft folder into a single document for printing or exporting.
2. Print the contents of the current editor using File > Print Current Document…
3. Export individual documents from the binder—this is what we will look at here.
Exporting allows you to get anything you have brought into Scrivener out again, or to export individual text files to popular word processor formats. To export:
1. In the binder, sele...
-
Syncing with iOS
Scrivener is also available for iOS so that you can write and structure while on your iPhone or iPad. The iOS version is available as a separate purchase from the Apple App Store. Below we cover how to sync between platforms for those who also own the iOS version. If you don’t have Scrivener for iPhone or iPad, you can ignore this section.
Setting Up Dropbox on Your PC
You need to store any projects you wish to sync on Dropbox. You can get a free Dropbox account from http://www.getdropbox.com. ...
-
Customising Projects
How to create your own project and document templates.
-
Custom Icons
You can assign any file or folder a custom icon via Documents > Change Icon. Some of the documents in this project have custom icons assigned, such as the folders using yellow book icons and the “START HERE” document, among others.
To see this feature in action, let’s try setting up another root folder in which we will store information about characters:
1. Lock the editor so that this document stays on screen (Right-click in the document icon in the header bar and select “Lock In Place”).
...
-
Document Templates
Note: Make sure you go through the Custom Icons section before reading this section, so that you have a “Characters” folder set up.
One of the philosophies behind Scrivener is that it doesn’t force you into a particular workflow. You can write any sort of long-form text in Scrivener, setting up your project to fit the task at hand. Therefore, Scrivener doesn’t assume that everyone writing a novel (for example) uses character sheets to keep track of character information, or prompt sheets for in...
-
Project Templates
Scrivener comes with a range of project templates that can be used as the basis for new projects. To create a new project from a template:
1. From the main menu, choose File > New Project…
2. In the templates chooser dialog that appears, select a category in the sidebar.
3. Select one of the templates in the category.
4. Click “Create”
Note that the “Blank” project type is not technically a template. “Blank” creates an empty project that is not based on a template. I...
-
Scrivener's File Format
Scrivener projects are saved on disk as files with the extension “.scriv” and is actually a folder.
To see what I mean, try the following:
1. Double-click on a .scriv file in the File Explorer.
2. Take a look inside the “Files/Data” folder, for instance.
You will (reassuringly, I hope) discover that all of your work is stored as multiple RTF and XML files inside various subfolders. This means that even in the worst possible crash case, if a .scriv file became hopelessly corrupted (althoug...
-
Tips
Some short tips that you can look at whenever you want.
-
Default Formatting
Changing the Default Formatting for New Documents
You can change the default formatting used for new documents like this:
1. In the editor, set up some text with the formatting you want to use for all new documents, and ensure the cursor is inside it.
2. From the main menu, select File > Options...
3. Select “Editing” in the toolbar.
4. Select the “Formatting” tab.
5. Click the “Use Formatting in Current Editor” button.
From now on, whenever you create a new blank docum...
-
Inserting Images
To insert an image into your manuscript:
1. Click into the editor and place the cursor where you would like the image to be inserted.
2. Go to Insert > Image From File… in the main menu.
3. Select the image file you would like to insert.
Alternatively, drag an image from the File Explorer (or an image file from the binder) into the editor.
Note that you do not use File > Import > Files… or drag images into the binder from the File Explorer to import images. Importing images into...
-
Chapter Numbering and Placeholders
Sometimes you will want numbers to appear in the text whose value may change depending on the arrangement of the text. For instance, you might want to title a document “Chapter 1”, but if you move it later, it might become “Chapter 2”. For this, you can use “placeholders”.
To insert an auto-number placeholder, go to Insert > Auto-Number in the main menu and pick a number type. A tag will be inserted into the text. For example, if you select “1, 2, 3, 4, 5…”, the following tag will be inserted:
...
-
Editor Text Width
By default, Scrivener’s editor uses a “fixed width”, so that when the editor is expanded beyond a certain width, the text will appear as a column in its centre. If you would prefer the text to take up the full width of the editor, you can turn this behaviour off via the Preferences:
1. Go to File > Options... in the main window.
2. Select the “Appearance” tab at the top.
3. Select “Main Editor” from the sidebar.
4. Deselect “Use fixed width editor”.
-
Dark Mode Theme
Scrivener has eight themes including “Dark Mode” that just might be easier on your eyes.
To switch to the Dark Mode theme:
• From the Windows > Themes, choose “Dark Mode”.
• You will be prompted to re-start Scrivener. Click “OK”, then shut down (File > Exit) then re-start Scrivener by double clicking the Scrivener application icon on your Windows Desktop.
To reset to the default scrivener theme from the Windows > Themes, choose “Default”, then shut down and re-start Scrivener.
-
Locking the Editor
Sometimes you will want to navigate through the binder while keeping the document in the editor pinned in place. “Lock in Place” allows this:
1. Right-click on the header view document icon to bring up the header bar menu.
#
2. Select “Lock in Place”.
The header bar will turn pink, indicating that the editor is now “locked”. When an editor is locked, clicks in the binder have no effect on it.
If you have split the editor so that two editors are visible on screen, clicks in the binde...
-
Transcription
Transcribing audio and media files in Scrivener is easy with the split view. Try the following:
1. Split the editor vertically or horizontally.
2. Click into one of the editors.
3. In the binder, select “ThisIsBuzzAldrin” inside the “Research” folder so that it loads in the editor. “ThisIsBuzzAldrin” is an audio file, so you won’t see much other than the play controls when you mouse over the editor. (Actually, that audio file is the beginning of the coolest phone message I ever pi...
-
Name Generator
Having problems coming up with character names? Scrivener comes with a name generator, available from Edit > Writing Tools > Name Generator…
-
Printing
You can print individual documents, the contents of the outliner, and index cards from the corkboard, by using File > Print Current Document… in the main menu.
You can change various options pertaining to printing as follows:
1. In the main menu, go to File > Print Settings…
-
Writing History
Scrivener keeps track of how many words and characters you write every day. To see a breakdown of how many words you’ve written each day and month for a particular project, go to Project > Writing History…
-
Dragging in the Binder & Outliner
By default, when you drag items around in the binder or outliner, you can drop them on other items as well as between them. Dropping “on” an item places the dropped document inside the document it was dropped on, as a subdocument.
Holding the Option key down while dragging restricts this behaviour so that you can only drop between documents—this can be useful when you want a little more accuracy.
-
Drag Text to and from Binder
Drag Text to the Binder
You can create new documents from sections of text in the editor as follows:
1. Select some text in the editor.
2. Click on the text and hold to begin a drag.
3. Drag the text into the binder.
A new document will be created containing the dragged text.
Drag Text from the Binder
You can insert the text of a binder document into another binder document like this:
1. In the editor, open the document into which you want to insert the text.
2. In...
-
Adding Project Bookmarks
A quick way of adding documents to the project bookmarks list is right-clicking selected document in the binder and selecting “Add to Project Bookmarks”.
-
Opening Bookmarks and Links
By default, clicking on a document link opens it in the other editor; double-clicking the icon of a bookmark from the inspector list opens it in a Quick Reference panel.
You can change this behaviour and determine how you would like links and bookmarks to be opened as follows:
1. In the main menu, go to File > Options...
2. Click on “Behaviors” in the toolbar.
3. Select “Document Links” in the sidebar.
You will be presented with a number of options that allow you to customise ho...
-
Keywords
When assigning keywords to documents from the keywords dialog, you can simultaneously assign the groups to which they belong by holding down the Alt key while dragging. Try this:
1. Open the inspector and select the Metadata tab, ensuring the Keywords dialog is visible.
2. Open the keywords dialog (Project > Project Keywords).
3. Click on the triangle next to “Characters” in the dialog to reveal the names of some characters.
4. If you were to drag one of these character keywo...
-
Index Card Images
The index card in the inspector can be used to show an image instead of a synopsis. If an image is used instead of a synopsis, then the image will also be used on the corkboard. This could be useful if you have a document about a character and want a photo to represent the character on the corkboard, for instance.
To use an image in the index card for a document:
1. Open the Inspector.
2. Select the notes dialog so that the synopsis and notes are displayed.
3. In the synopsis ...
-
Multiple Books in One Project
Generally, Scrivener is set up to assume that each project contains a single book (or writing project): when you compile, you compile the entire Draft folder into a single manuscript. However, you don’t have to work this way. Perhaps you are working on a series of books that rely on the same research, for instance—in that case, you might want to set up a project to contain multiple books. Here’s how:
1. Inside the Draft folder, setup a subfolder for each book.
2. Treat each subfolder i...
-
Name & Address in Templates
Go to File > Options… and enter your details in the “Author Information” section of the “General” pane.
-
Saving UI Settings with Layouts
If you find yourself opening and closing the binder and inspector frequently, or spending a lot of time setting up the corkboard or outliner view to appear in the right place for a particular task, check out the Layouts feature:
From the main menu, select Window > Layouts > Manage Layouts…
This allows you to save the state of the interface and quickly return to it at a later time, either via the layouts dialog or the Window > Layouts menu.
Layouts can also be accessed through the View button ...
-
Scratch Pad
If you have to gather a lot of research in other applications and find yourself doing a lot of copying and pasting into Scrivener, the Scratch Pad feature may come in handy Window > Scratch Pad (Ctrl+Shift+0).
Note: You can take screen shots, or grab arbitrary sections of your screen with Scratch Pad using the “Grab” icon in Scratch Pad’s footer bar - which can be handy when gathering research.
#
Scratch Pad
The scratch pad is a dialog that can be called up from any other application usi...
-
Backing Up
Although Scrivener is designed to be as stable as possible, and its auto-save should ensure your work is constantly saved, with important writing projects it’s always a good idea to make regular backups, saved to either cloud services or external hard drives, so that your work is always safe no matter what happens.
Automatic Backups
By default, Scrivener will back up a project every time it is closed, and up to a maximum of five backups of each project will be kept around (with newer backups re...
-
Resetting the Tutorial
If at any time you decide you want to wipe all of your edits and restore the tutorial to its original state, follow these steps:
1. Selecting File > Reveal Project Folder will highlight the current project folder in File Explorer.
2. Close the tutorial project in Scrivener.
3. In the File Explorer window that opened in (2), move the tutorial project to the Recycle Bin on your Desktop.
4. Back in Scrivener, go to Help > Interactive Tutorial… You will be prompted to create a fr...
|
|
|
|